Baltimore DUI Attorney
Getting behind the wheel after consuming alcohol or drugs can be a costly mistake. If you have been arrested and charged with driving under the influence or DUI in Maryland, The Law Office of Gil S. Amaral, Esq. can help you.
As a skilled Baltimore DUI defense attorney, I can fight to protect you from:
- Jail time
- Fines and fees
- Driver’s license suspension or revocation
- Having a criminal record
Review your DUI charges immediately with our team of experienced DUI defense attorneys.
Call 410-727-9550 now and get a live team member! We are here to fight for your rights 24/7!
What do I do if I am charged with a DUI?
DUI & DWI Penalties in Maryland
The laws and regulations governing DUI in Maryland can be complicated and confusing. It is important to work with an attorney who has a thorough knowledge of DUI laws and many years of experience handling these complex cases. Read on for more important preliminary information about DUI.
- Should I blow if I get pulled over for a DUI?
- What happens if this is my first DUI?
- What is the punishment for a DUI in Maryland?
- Is a DUI a criminal offense in Maryland?
- What is the difference between a DUI and DWI in Maryland?
- Do I lose my license if I'm charged with a DUI?
Experience matters. Do not navigate the complex DUI laws alone in Maryland.
Call Gil S. Amaral, Esq. 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to fight to keep you on the road 410-727-9550.
In the state of Maryland, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or above. When the driver is caught driving above the BAC limit, he or she will be charged with driving under the influence (DUI).
Maryland has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. If a driver who is under the age of 21 is caught drinking and driving, he or she will be charged with DUI, regardless of whether he or she was drunk.
There are guidelines in place that establish the maximum penalty for DUI charges based on the number of prior offenses (within five years) and the circumstances involved.
The maximum penalties for DUI include:
- First offense: One year of prison and a $1,000 fine
- Second offense: Two years of prison and a $2,000 fine
- Third offense: Three years of prison and a $3,000 fine
If there are children in the car during the incident or if the driver injures or kills someone while driving under the influence, the penalties will be more severe.
Should I take a sobriety test? Do I have to blow if I'm pulled over for a DUI?
If you failed a sobriety test or refused to take a test, hope is not lost. With the help of a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney, you can still fight your charges.
Defenses available to you may include:
- Unlawful or illegal arrest
- Inadequate evidence
- Insufficient police report
- Unlawful search and seizure
- Questionable results from an improper standardized field sobriety test
- Improper administration of a blood, urine, or breathalyzer test
- Illegal arrest at a sobriety checkpoint
- Unreliable test results from an improperly calibrated machine
Top Baltimore DUI & Traffic Violations Lawyer
Hiring an experienced Baltimore DUI defense lawyer can help you build a strategic defense that may lessen your penalties or get your case dismissed. I am committed to providing aggressive and dependable representation with personalized service.
I have over 30 years of experience helping individuals with a variety of DUI charges including:
- DUI accidents resulting in property damage
- DUI accidents resulting in injury or death
- DUI in the presence of a minor
- Refusal to submit to testing
- Open container violations